Main Navigation

University Resources

Home Awards


School of Biological Awards Ceremony

The annual SBS Awards Ceremony acknowledges and celebrates awards of faculty, students, staff and alumni.

School of Biological Sciences Awards List


2021 Nat Prize, Museu de Ciències Naturals de Barcelona | Natural Science Museum of BarcelonaNalini Nadkarni, Professor Emerita
2021 Ty Harrison Service Award, Utah Native Plant SocietyWilliam "Bill" Gray, Professor Emeritus
2021 Ig Nobel Peace PrizeDave Carrier & Steven Naleway (Mechanical Engineering), along with SBS recent graduate Ethan Beseris
2021–2022 New Frontiers Graduate Fellow | University of Illinois & Blue Waters ProjectDale Forrister (Coley lab, PhD candidate)
2021 Henry Baldwin Ward medal winner American Soc. of Parasitology
Sarah Bush, Associate Professor
2021 College of Science Fostering Undergraduate Research Excellence AwardsÇağan H. Şekercioğlu, Associate Professor
National Academy of Sciences FellowMary C. Beckerle, Dist Prof of Biology, CEO & Director, Huntsman Cancer Institute
James E. Talmage Presidential Endowed Chair in BiologyMichael Shapiro, James E. Talmage Presidential Endowed Chair in Biology & Adjunct Professor of Human Genetics
2020 On-line Excellence AwardNaina Phadnis, Associate Professor Lecturer and Assistant Director of Undergraduate Programs
2020 University of Utah Distinguished Research AwardDavid Bowling, Professor
Humboldt Foundation Research AwardM. Denise Dearing, Distinguished Professor
National Graphic Explorer – The National Geographic Society, (ABC’s of Species Discovery Through Artificial Intelligence, Botany and Chemistry) Phyllis "Lissy" Coley, Distinguished Professor Emerita
Geochemical Society FellowThure Cerling, Distinguished Professor of Biology and of Geology and Geophysics
Developmental Biology Outstanding Paper AwardMike Shapiro, Presidential Endowed Chair in Biology & Adjunct Professor of Human Genetics & Elena Boer, PostDoc
2020 Most cited Scientist in Turkey in Biology, Ecology and OrnithologyCagan Sekercioglu, Associate Professor
Turkey Ministry of Forestry Award for Best Environmental DocumentaryCagan Sekercioglu, Associate Professor
Turkey Photography Artists Association (TFSF) Award for Conservation PhotographyCagan Sekercioglu, Associate Professor
2020 Genetics Editors’ Choice AwardNitin Phadnis, Associate Professor
NSF CAREER AwardSophie Caron & William Anderegg, Assistant Professors
Honorary Fellow Award 2021, Association for Tropical Biology and ConservationPhyllis "Lissy" Coley, Distinguished Professor Emerita
2019 American Association for Advancement of Science Fellow John S. Parkinson, Professor