Genomics

Often defined as the study of genomes, the field of genomics aims to elucidate the structure, function and interaction of an organism’s genes. Laboratories in the Department of Biology use genomic approaches to address questions of central importance to the biological sciences. A specific focus in the Department is to understand how variation in the primary DNA sequences of genomes underlies changes in gene function – and hence in genetic regulatory pathways – to result in phenotypic differences among individuals, populations, and species (for example, differences in morphology, or in susceptibility to disease).

Name Unit Phone Email
Brazelton, WilliamBrazelton Lab801-587-9455wbrazelton@gmail.com
Clark, RichardClark Lab801-585-9722, 801-585-5581clark@biology.utah.edu
Dale, ColinDale Lab801-585-0558colin.dale@utah.edu
Dentinger, BrynDentinger Lab801-213-3695bryn.dentinger@gmail.com
Gagnon, JamesGagnon Labjames.gagnon@gmail.com
Phadnis, NitinPhadnis Lab801-585-0493nitin.phadnis@utah.edu
Shapiro, MichaelShapiro Lab801-581-5690shapiro@biology.utah.edu
Sieburth, LeslieSieburth Lab801-587-9378sieburth@biology.utah.edu
Wolstenholme, DavidWolstenholme Lab801-581-8577wolstenholme@biology.utah.edu

Other Research Interest Areas