Contact Us

Departmental Administration

The Department of Biology is administered by a Departmental Chair together with a team of supervisors:

M. Denise Dearing, Professor

Departmental Chair

M. Denise Dearing, Distinguished Professor

Email: Email: Denise Dearing
Phone: 801-585-0622

Leslie Sieburth, Professor

Associate Chair

Leslie Sieburth, Professor

Email: Email: Leslie Sieburth
Phone: 801-585-6990
Student Affairs, Curriculum


Ann Polidori

Assistant to the Chair

Ann Polidori

Email: Email: Ann Polidori
Phone: 801-585-0622

Michael Shapiro

Division Head
Genetics & Evolution

Michael Shapiro, Professor

Email: Email: Mike Shapiro
Phone: 801-581-6812

Dave Bowling

Division Head
Ecology & Physiology

David Bowling, Professor

Email: Email: David Bowling
Phone: 801-585-5671

Julie Hollien

Division Head
Cell & Molecular

Julie Hollien, Assoc. Professor

Email: Email: Julie Hollien
Phone: 801-581-8886

José Rojas

Facilities MANAGER

José Rojas

Email: Email: Maureen Fedor
Phone: 801-581-7396

Justin Chavez

Financial Manager

Justin Chavez

Email: Email: Justin Chavez
Phone: 801-581-4266

Shannon Nielsen

Biology Graduate Advising

Shannon Nielsen

Email:Email: Maureen Fedor
Phone: 801-581-5636

Karen Zundel

Administrative Coordinator

Karen Zundel

Email: Email: Maureen Fedor
Phone: 801-585-1791

Denise Brenes

Biology Undergraduate Advising

Denise Brenes, Director

Email: Email: Maureen Fedor
Phone: 801-581-6244
Office: Bldg. 44, Rm. 135


PR/Advancement Coordinator


Email: Email: Maureen Fedor
Phone: 801-587-9020

Email to sign up for our Newsletter

Commonly Requested Contact Information

  • General questions: 801-581-6517
  • Biology Undergraduate Advising: 801-581-6244
  • Biology Graduate Advising 801-581-5636
  • Payroll: 801-585-0995
  • Accounts Payable: 801-581-8107
  • Human Resources: 801-585-1791

Mailing Address

Department of Biology
University of Utah
257 South 1400 East, Rm. 201
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0840

Telephone: 801-581-6517 (main office), 801-581-4668 (fax)

Contact information for other individuals can be found in the Departmental Directory


The Department of Biology occupies 5 buildings clustered on the southeast corner of President's Circle:

The main administrative offices are located on the second floor of South Biology (Biol), just inside the east entrance facing the Skaggs Building (ASB).


Deliveries are typically made to the main office located in South Biology – parking is available between the Life Science and Biology Buildings (accessed from President’s Circle). Large deliveries to ASB can be made at the ASB loading dock (accessed through the Visitor parking lot by the University Campus Store).


During business hours (8AM – 6PM) parking is available in the Visitor lot by the University Campus Store and Marriott Library. A limited number of metered spots are available on President’s Circle. Outside business hours (before 8AM, after 6PM) parking is generally available in any parking lot at no charge.